commentary to opus 103c

Back to work register

Eight Bagatelles for Oboe solo or Cor Anglais in F or Soprano Saxophone in B-Flat, op.103c (1999)


Duration: 12 Minutes

Publisher: Vogt & Fritz VF 739 / ISMN M 2026-0523-3



OBOE-FAGOTT No. 68 (2002)

The "Eight Bagatelles ", op.103c, for Oboe solo, which can also be played on Cor Anglais in F or Soprano Saxophone in B-Flat, are short pieces in which the aspect of joy in music-making and entertainment stand in the foreground. This is tonal music for pleasure, easy to understand and interesting because of the echo effects, little rhythmical shifts or witty grace-notes. It offers nothing new, but packs familiar ideas into an appealing form. As the technical demands are not very high, the Bagatelles are suitable even for young players who wish to display their musical (and dynamic!) abilities.

Eberhard Holbein

Back to previous page

Deutsch - Franšais